Former Cobra Receives Tampa Bay Rays Heart and Hustle Award

July 23rd, 2014

Former Parkland standout Kevin Kiermaier continues his outstanding rookie year by earning the nomination as the Tampa Bay Rays Heart and Hustle Award winner. Kiermaier, who is hitting the .315 with 8 home runs and 24 RBI is in St. Louis to face the Cardinals on Tuesday and Wednesday night.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- The Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association (MLBPAA) is pleased to announce the 30 preliminary winners of the 2014 Heart & Hustle Award. This esteemed award honors active players who demonstrate a passion for the game of baseball and best embody the values, spirit and tradition of the game. The Heart & Hustle Award is also the only award in Major League Baseball that is voted on by former players.

The MLBPAA formed 30 committees, comprised of Alumni players with established relationships to each team. One player from each Major League team is chosen by the committees based on the passion, desire, and work ethic demonstrated both on and off the field. These players will be recognized prior to an upcoming home game. As the season draws to a close, fans, all Alumni and active players will vote to select the final winner from the 30 team winners. The previous overall winners are David Eckstein (2005), Craig Biggio (2006, 2007), Grady Sizemore (2008), Albert Pujols (2009), Roy Halladay (2010), Torii Hunter (2011), Mike Trout (2012) and Dustin Pedroia (2013).

The final winner will be announced Nov. 18, 2014, at the 15th Annual Legends for Youth Dinner in New York City. This event is the primary fund raiser for the series of free Legends for Youth baseball clinics. These clinics impact more than 15,000 children each year at 110 clinics, allowing them the unique opportunity to interact with and learn from players who have left a lasting impact on the game of baseball.

The 30 individual team winners are as follows:

American League
Baltimore Orioles: Adam Jones
Boston Red Sox: Dustin Pedroia
Chicago White Sox: Adam Eaton
Cleveland Indians: Michael Brantley
Detroit Tigers: Don Kelly
Houston Astros: Jose Altuve
Kansas City Royals: Alex Gordon
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Mike Trout
Minnesota Twins: Brian Dozier
New York Yankees: Brett Gardner
Oakland Athletics: Josh Donaldson
Seattle Mariners: Kyle Seager
Tampa Bay Rays: Kevin Kiermaier
Texas Rangers: Adrian Beltre
Toronto Blue Jays: Mark Buehrle

National League
Arizona Diamondbacks: Paul Goldschmidt
Atlanta Braves: Jason Heyward
Chicago Cubs: Nate Schierholtz
Cincinnati Reds: Skip Schumaker
Colorado Rockies: Corey Dickerson
Los Angeles Dodgers: Dee Gordon
Miami Marlins: Christian Yelich
Milwaukee Brewers: Jonathan Lucroy
New York Mets: Daniel Murphy
Philadelphia Phillies: Chase Utley
Pittsburgh Pirates: Josh Harrison
San Diego Padres: Tyson Ross
San Francisco Giants: Hunter Pence
St. Louis Cardinals: Matt Carpenter
Washington Nationals: Ian Desmond

Parkland Earns Top Spot of Illinois JUCO Sports Teams

July 1st, 2014
On the strength of a runner-up finish in Volleyball and solid appearances by the Women's Basketball and Men's Golf teams, the Parkland College Athletic Department finished as the top school in Illinois in rankings released by the National Alliance for Two-Year Colleges (NATYCA) and National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA). The Learfield Sports Director's Cup is divided into scholarship and non-scholarship divisions and has been awarded for the past three years. Iowa Western was the over-all winner with Iowa Central and Tyler TX. finishing 2nd and 3rd.
In looking only at Illinois two-year colleges, Parkland scored a total of 46 points, easily out pointing Black Hawk 32.5 and Lincoln College 29. Below is a listing of the Illinois schools.
Parkland 46
Black Hawk 32.5
Lincoln College 29
Kankakee 26.5
Illinois Central 26.5
Lincoln Land 25
Waubonsee 19
Lewis and Clark 19
College of Dupage 18
John A Logan 13
Kishwaukee 13
Moraine Valley 13
Carl Sandburg 10.5
College of Lake Co. 10.5
John Wood 6.5
Lake Land 6.5
Prairie State 2.5
Congratulations to all of the athletes and coaches at Parkland that helped make this happen in 13-14. Here's to more success in 14-15!